Monday 23 April 2012 at 7.30pm



Licensing Act Committee

MEMBERS: Councillor THOMPSON (Chairman) Councillor SHUTTLEWORTH (Deputy

Chairman), Councillors Mrs COLES, COOKE, Mrs HEARN, LIDDIARD,

MURDOCH, TAYLOR, UNGAR and Mrs WEST.

(Apologies for absence were reported from Councillors Mrs Heaps, Murray and Warner).

1 Minutes.

The minutes of the meeting held on 11 October 2010 were submitted and approved and the Chairman was authorised to sign them as a correct record.

2 Declaration of Interests.

None were received.

3 Central Governments National Alcohol Strategy and changes to the Licensing Act 2003.

The Committee considered the report of the Licensing Manager regarding Central Government's National Alcohol Strategy and changes to the Licensing Act 2003.

The Licensing Manager gave an overview of the Strategy that aims to radically reshape the approach to alcohol and aims to reduce the numbers of people drinking to excess.

In addition to the Strategy, Central Government had sought to overhaul the Licensing Act 2003 through the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011. The aim is to grant more power to local authorities allowing them to tackle issues in the area. The changes empower Local Authorities to establish fixed closing times, staggered hours and zoning, improve community awareness and knowledge of licence applications, alcohol hotspots, licence conditions and licensing initiatives.

The Licensing Manager informed the Committee that these changes were intended to come into force on the 25th April 2012 however formal guidance had not yet been received from Central Government. Secondary legislation would be required to cover Early Morning Restriction Orders, late night levy and locally set licensing fees and this was anticipated to be introduced from 1st October 2012.

RESOLVED: (1) That the contents of the report outlining the Government's National Alcohol Strategy, changes to the Licensing Act 2003 and implications for the Authority in addition to other "Responsible Authorities" be noted.

(2) That the next steps for the Authority contained in the report be noted.

The meeting closed at 7.52 p.m.

M Thompson (Chairman)